1. Beethoven: Sonatas: Pathetique - Moonlight - Waldstein - Appassionata / Biret [DVD]

Beethoven: Sonatas: Pathetique - Moonlight - Waldstein - Appassionata / Biret [DVD]

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In November 1949, at the age of eight, Idil Biret entered the studios of ORTF (Radiodiffusion Television Francaise) in Paris and made her first recordings; these were works by Couperin, Bach, Beethoven and Debussy. In the following decades she made nearly 100 LPs and CDs, released on ten record labels (Pretoria, Vega, Decca, Atlantic/Finnadar, Pantheon, EMI, Naxos, Marco Polo, Alpha, BMP) and many recordings for radio and television stations around the world. These included the complete piano works of Brahms, Chopin and Rachmaninov as well as the Sonatas of Boulez and the Etudes of Ligeti. The Idil Biret Archive (IBA) is now bringing together her past and present recording; as the copyrights are obtained, old recordings no longer available commercially are being released together with her new recordings. The transcriptions by Liszt of Beethoven's Symphonies, originally recorded for EMI, and the newly recorded 32 Sonatas and all the Piano Concertos of Beethoven were released by IBA and also made available in a box set. All the Piano Concertos of Liszt, Tchaikovsky, Schumann and Grieg and the nine LPs recorded for Atlantic/Finnadar in New York which include works by Boulez, Webern, Berg, Ravel and Stravinsky were also released. The present album features Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas Pathetique, Moonlight, Waldstein, and Appassionata. IBA is distributed worldwide by Naxos.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 10, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 2110687

  • UPC: 747313568758

  • Label: Idil Biret Archive

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Franz Liszt, Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Performer: Idil Biret