British Invasion / Kanengiser, Alexander String Quartet

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Alexander String Quartet and guitarist William Kanengiser form a dynamic collaboration that explores the music of Sting, Led Zeppelin, John Dowland and The Beatles by way of contemporary composers Ian Krouse, Dušan Bogdanovic and Leo Brouwer. In this project, William Kanengiser and the Alexander String Quartet pay tribute to a group of English musicians who conquered the musical world with their revolutionary explorations. From the Elizabethan lutenist John Dowland to the pop/rock icons Sting, The Beatles and Led Zeppelin, these artists made a lasting impact far from the shores of their small island. Their music served as inspiration for a set of compositions for guitar and string quartet by the talented composers Ian Krouse, Dušan Bogdanovic and Léo Brouwer. It is especially appropriate that the guitar sits squarely at the center of these works, as the plucked string was the primary musical voice of these British innovators.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 07, 2023

  • Catalog Number: FCL2023

  • UPC: 700871202328

  • Label: Foghorn Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Dusan Bogdanovic, Leo Brouwer, Ian Krouse, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, Sting

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Alexander String Quartet

  • Performer: William Kanengiser