Michael Gielen Edition, Vol. 3 (1989-2005): Brahms - Symphonies and Concertos

Regular price $30.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This third volume of our Michael Gielen Edition is devoted to music by Johannes Brahms, with all the recordigns taken from the archives of the Southwest German Radio. These recordings were made between April 1989 and January 2005. Michael Gielen enjoyed a felicitous involvement with Brahms' chamber music, particularly the late piano works where, in Schoenberg's words, the "progressive Brahms" is most evident. Maybe that's why Brahms' first piano quartet, orchestrated by Arnold Shcoenberg, sounds so ravishingly sharp under Gielen's direction. The solemnity of Schicksaslied calls for sincere commitment on the part of the conductor. Working as one, the Symphony Orchestra of Baden-Baden and Freiburg and Michael Gielen achieve an interpretation of this work that is both balanced and comforting.



Gielen proposes we listen to Brahms for the sake of his musical arguments rather than for the lustrous sounds that he's capable of conjuring, an approach that seems eminently sensible, and a valid alternative to various fleshier interpretive options.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: SWR19022CD

  • UPC: 747313902286

  • Label: SWR Music

  • Number of Discs: 5

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms

  • Conductor: Michael Gielen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cologne West German Radio Chorus, South West German Radio Orchestra

  • Performer: David Geringas, Gerhard Oppitz, Mark Kaplan