Shostakovich, Weinberg: Songs & Trios / Kasper, Trio Vivente

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Long before the founding of the Trio Vivente, Anne Katharina Schreiber, the trio’s violinist, heard a radio broadcast about Shostakovich’s Romance Suite and the circumstances of its premiere. She was so deeply moved that she later absolutely wanted to incorporate the suite into the Trio Vivente’s repertoire. However, the search for the right Russian-language female vocalist long remained without success – until she met the singer Kateryna Kasper. While studying Weinberg’s trio, she discovered just how closely the two composers had worked together. It thus seemed only natural to combine their works, and since Weinberg’s Jewish Songs also exist in a version for soprano and trio, a perfect circle was formed. This is how this album featuring trios and songs by these two expressionistic composers came about – and it is filled with expressive power!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 555367-2

  • UPC: 761203536726

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Mieczyslaw Weinberg

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Trio Vivente

  • Performer: Kateryna Kasper