Weinberg: Cello Music, Chamber Symphony no. 4 / Wispelway, Charlier, Feye, Les Métamorphoses

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Pieter Wispelwey is finally back! Research on Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s music is very much ongoing, and several previously unknown works have been discovered in recent years. Perhaps most surprising of these is the Cello Concertino op. 43bis. The Fantasy for cello and orchestra op. 53 was written a few years later, during one of the darkest periods of Weinberg’s life. The Chamber Symphony no.4 is Weinberg’s final completed work. He wrote it in April-May of 1992, by which time he was housebound with the illness that would ultimately claim his life. The work is scored for string orchestra with an obbligato clarinet.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: EPRC 0045

  • UPC: 608917723229

  • Label: Evil Penguin

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Mieczyslaw Weinberg

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Les Métamorphoses

  • Performer: Peter Wispelwey